Monday, May 27, 2013

What’s Your Emotional Identity?

Our emotions change throughout the day. It’s possible to experience a wide range of emotions even in a short period of time. You can go from happiness to sadness, anger, or fear depending on what’s happening around you. But a person’s emotional “identity” stems from their consciousness, their internal belief system.

There are 7 core emotions or “identities” on the Energetic Self Perception Chart developed by Dr. Bruce Schneider and each is tied to a conscious belief.

  1. Apathy – Victim

  2. Anger – Conflict

  3. Forgiveness – Responsibility

  4. Compassion – Concern

  5. Peace – Reconciliation

  6. Joy – Synthesis

  7. Absolute Passion – Non-judgment

Where you reside on this chart affects every aspect of your life. If you are resonating at a level 1, feeling like a victim, then you see no use in trying because you believe you will not succeed. The action associated with this core energy is “apathy” and the associated thought is, “I’ll lose so why even bother trying?” But if you are resonating at a higher level, life is more fulfilling, good things happen, life is fun and exciting!

The good news is, with some work, your emotional identity can be shifted. It is not necessary to live life as a victim or in anger.

What is your energy frequency, your emotional identity? What are you attracting into your life? Contact me to learn more or to take the Your Fear Factor process and assessment. Start managing your energy today!
Everything is energy and that’s all there is to it. Match the frequency of the reality you want and you cannot help but get that reality. It can be no other way. This is not philosophy. This is physics. –Unknown (attributed to Einstein)

Monday, May 6, 2013

The Difference Between Acceptance, Surrender and Giving Up

Sometimes when faced with tough life challenges we refuse to accept it because acceptance can feel like giving up but there is a huge difference.

Acceptance is simply an acknowledgement of the situation. Acceptance is saying, “Okay, here’s the situation. I accept that I am here.”

Surrender is yet another step. Think about some of our greatest war heroes that were captured and held in prison camps for decades but eventually either escaped or were released. They surrendered, but they never gave up.

Giving up means admitting defeat. It’s saying, “I have lost. There’s no sense in trying anymore.”

When I was in the battle of my lifetime for my health, I read an article written by a psychologist suffering from the same illness. Her advice was to never accept it. But I disagreed. I had tried that for years and it felt like a constant battle. The moment I said, “Okay, this is where I am. I accept it. Now what?” my health started to improve. Interesting, don’t you think?

The next step was surrender. Surrender means stopping the fight against forces that you cannot control. Surrender allows you to reserve your energy for later. It’s the process of letting go. It does not mean giving up. In my case, I surrendered to my higher power - my source, my soul.

Once I surrendered, it was as if I was handed a map with a big arrow that said, "You are here!"  I could finally see the way out. It was a critical step in my recovery. Those two simple acts released so much counterproductive energy and allowed my body to use that energy in a productive manner - to heal.

So no matter what challenge you face today or in the future, health-related or otherwise, never give up! Instead, first, accept and then surrender.
Be well…